[ Work in Progress ]

Living a colorful life, one moment at a time

3rd Grade Rocks Layout

Leave a comment

Hello! I wanted to share a layout I finished today. The photo was taken on Jasmine’s first day back to school. A few days before school started, Jasmine mentioned that 3rd grade was going to be the hardest year yet for her. But, like all the past years so far, I think that she will rock 3rd grade, and I told her so.

Looking at the pic I took of her that first day, I can’t help but remember how I was feeling that day. I was sad to have my constant companion this summer go back to school. We spent lots of time together, albeit some of it was spent in separate rooms, enjoying separate activities. I was also a little apprehensive about her safety because when she is with me, I keep her safe. At school, I cannot protect her – from bullies wielding harsh words, crazy people who want to hurt children, and lord knows what else. But I had faith that she can protect herself, and that the school’s security procedures that they put in place last year will protect my baby as well as other babies who go to the school. No, she is no longer a baby, but she will always be my baby just the same. Sigh. I keep finding myself silently asking for time to slow down. She is growing up way too fast. Already she is almost as tall as me, wears the same size shoes, and her hands are as big as mine. We compared hands this morning and she said, “Oh no, my hands are going to be huge!” She is now finally riding a bike. Hooray, she learned in two hours! That is the thing about Jasmine – she will learn things all on her own terms, in due time. Just like me, she takes her time: she was a late walker, but an amazingly early reader (before kindergarten) and swimmer (she was swimming at the age of two, fearlessly swimming with her head underwater, amazing everyone at the pool). She wasn’t interested with riding the bike as she took a spill while trying to learn with training wheels a few years ago and she scooters around our development just fine, so she found no need for the bike. But when she learned she had to ride the bike for bike safety day, she asked her Dad to help her learn. After a couple of sweaty sessions, she just started riding.

Back to the layout.

ImageImage

I decided to use kraft paper as the base to give it that school feel. I haven’t used kraft paper as a background in years, but I used it quite often in the past. To continue with the school theme, I used a notebook edge punch, a Jenni Bowlin file folder punch, stapled down some of the papers with the tiny attacher, and Studio Calico wood elements: the exclamation point, A+, and “School Days.” I layered on some American Crafts paper from a 6X6 pad I found at Target. I added some wooden stars from SC to accent the yellow glitter Thickers that I used for the title. And then I used the neon Mister Huey’s mist to create some splatters, and also added sequins to enhance the splatters. The neon didn’t show up as bright as I wanted on the kraft paper background, but I’m okay with it. The alphabet washi tape is from the Studio Calico Double Scoop September kit. Lastly, I added butterflies because to me they are a symbol of growth, of transformation. I use them quite often. One last bit that I wanted to mention. I used a small wooden girl from SC and the wooden chevron. It’s my favorite part of the layout – I will usually have one particular area or element of my layout that I really like that makes me smile. On this layout, it is the little wooden girl with the wooden chevron arrows pointing to it.

Image

Leave a Reply

